Violence and harassment may be factors in an unhealthy relationship. In Texas, you may file a protective order if a member of your family or other person is targeting you with abuse. These are court orders that can prevent the abusive person from contacting you or your children. A Texas protective order could:
- Prevent the offending person from committing additional acts of family violence, sexual assault or stalking.
- Keep the offending person from directly or indirectly threatening you or your children. For instance, the protective order may prevent the offending individual from conveying threats through a third-party (another person).
- Prevent the offending person from going to a school or daycare that your child attends (if your child is covered by the protective order).
These are only a few examples of what a protective order may accomplish. A Texas protective order may also require the offending person to leave your household.
How Do I Get a Protective Order in Texas?
The court determines the necessity of a protective order on a case-by-case basis. A protective order may be warranted in cases where family violence, sexual assault or stalking has occurred and is likely to occur again. A temporary protective order may last for up to 20 days. After the temporary order is in place, you can receive a hearing date for a full protective order. Full protective orders can last for up to two years.
There are severe penalties for violating a protective order in Texas. The offender could face a fine of up to $4,000 and one year in jail. In cases involving violence, the penalties are steeper. The offender could also lose his or her right to obtain or renew a license to own firearms in Texas.
You should speak with an experienced family law attorney if you are trying to obtain a protective order in Texas. The Texas family law attorneys at Julian, Crowder & Shuster, P.C. could assist you in filing a protective order.