Tag Archives: Marijuana
Although marijuana has been legalized in multiple states for recreational or medical usage, it remains, for the most part, illegal here in Texas. Unless you fall into a very specific category of people with untreatable epilepsy, then you could still be arrested under state law for marijuana possession. However, it is important to know what you can do if police stop you on the assumption that you are in possession of marijuana. You have constitutional rights that could help you in the event you are stopped or arrested. If you are stopped by police and they suspect you have marijuana, then it is very important to stay calm. You will likely be asked to produce your license and vehicle registration. Do not refuse this request, as you are required by law to provide this information. If you are carrying marijuana, then do not try to eat or destroy the stash….
Read More »
Dozens of states across the country have legalized or decriminalized marijuana in recent years. However, it is still against the law to possess any amount of marijuana in Texas. The criminal penalties for being arrested with marijuana in Texas can vary depending on the circumstances. While the possible criminal penalties for marijuana possession are serious, you should also consider how a conviction can affect the rest of your life. Being convicted of marijuana possession could make it more difficult to: Find housing: Some apartments will not rent to tenants who have a criminal history. This is especially the case for crimes that involve felonies. You may find that fewer or no apartments will allow you to sign a lease. Find employment: Most jobs perform a background check to assess the financial and criminal histories of job applicants. Depending on the nature of the job, you may find that fewer employers…
Read More »
A bipartisan bill that would partially decriminalize marijuana possession is making its way through the Texas Legislature. Under current state law, people who possess two ounces or less of marijuana can face up to six months in jail. They may also be fined up to $2,000. If House Bill 81 (HB 81) passes and is signed into law, possession of one ounce or less could result in a fine of up to $250. Marijuana possession for this amount would not result in criminal charges. Each year, tens of thousands of people are arrested for marijuana possession in Texas. In 2015, there were more than 61,749 arrests statewide. FBI statistics show a majority of those arrested for possession are under 30 years old. These young people who are charged with possession of marijuana can have their futures derailed. What Are the Possible Consequences of Marijuana Possession? If someone is in college…
Read More »