Can I Get an Occupational Driver’s License?
Lewisville DWI Lawyer Explains Occupational License Eligibility after a DWI License Suspension
Under Texas state laws, police officers must confiscate your driver’s license after arresting you for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). Fortunately, this does not necessarily mean that your license is suspended. With the help of a Lewisville DWI lawyer, you might be able to prevent a license suspension or get an occupational license. This allows you to continue working, going to school and continue living your life.
Since our Lewisville law firm opened, we guided those facing possible license suspensions from DWI charges. The experience two of our attorneys gained in their work as former police officers gives our firm unique insight into Texas DWI laws. With this knowledge, we have successfully defended hundreds facing criminal charges in and around North Texas. We provide the cost-effective, personalized representation needed after a DWI arrest.
Can I Stop My License from Being Suspended After a DWI Charge?
Beginning with your DWI arrest date, you have a very limited time to stop the state from suspending your license. Two of our criminal attorneys are former police officers. Thus, they understand the administrative processes involved with DWI charges and license suspensions.
According to Texas law, if you refused or failed a sobriety test, you have 40 days from your arrest before the license suspension automatically goes into effect. If you make a request for an administrative license hearing within 15 days of your arrest, you could prevent the state from suspending your driving privileges.
Warning: There are some situations where you cannot stop the administrative powers from enforcing a license suspension. However, you might qualify for an occupational driver’s license if you lose your license.
What is an Occupational Driver’s License (ODL)?
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) might issue an occupational license, also known as an essential need license, if you can prove that you need a driver’s license to carry out essential functions. Texas grants these licenses to people who need them for work, school or to perform essential household duties. Those wanting an ODL must file forms with the court and have a judge sign the order.
Legal update: Beginning September 1, 2015, all vehicles owned and operated by those with suspended licenses for DWI must have working interlock devices equipped for the entire period of their license suspensions. You no longer have to prove essential need to receive an occupational driver’s license.
There also may be other applications and fees associated with seeking this type of license. Our Lewisville DWI lawyer can walk you through them as well as make sure you meet all deadlines.
Contact a Lewisville DWI Lawyer to Learn If Our Firm Can Provide the DWI Defense You Need
We have years of experience assisting those facing serious repercussions from consequences under Texas DWI laws. To learn more about how our attorneys can protect your driving privileges, then schedule a free consultation with us. You can call (972) 315-6222 or contact our DWI attorneys online by submitting a confidential form.