What Does a DWI Charge Cost in Texas?
Lewisville DWI Lawyer Adds it Up
What are important factors to consider when hiring a Lewisville DWI lawyer to fight your drunk-driving arrest? Experience? Of course. Past success? Yes. Cost? Absolutely. However, it is also crucial to understand the real costs and consequences associated with a DWI (driving while intoxicated) conviction in the state of Texas. After all, the DWI defense strategy you choose may have a serious impact on your freedom, finances and future.
Reach out to the Lewisville DWI attorneys of Julian, Crowder & Shuster to schedule a free consultation following a DWI arrest. As former police officers, our Lewisville DWI lawyer team understands that the financial costs of a DWI arrest or conviction is only one portion of total consequences involved. You may have been arrested or charged with a DWI, but you still have legal rights. We will uphold them.
Should I Plead Guilty to a DWI Arrest in Texas?
Many people plead guilty to a DWI only because it seems like the least expensive option, but this is not always the best choice. If you plead guilty to a DWI, you have been convicted of a crime. You may face financial consequences, jail time and you establish a criminal record. The real cost of a DWI conviction comes after the guilty plea — and can be enormous.
What Does a Texas DWI Charge Cost?
In Texas, DWI convictions can cost between $8,000 and $10,000 before attorney fees. If you face DWI charges or failed a breathalyzer, here is a breakdown of the costs and consequences you may be facing:
- DWI fines – Up to $2,000 for a first offense
- Court costs for DUI – $400 – $500
- Mandatory DWI classes and counseling – Up to $500
- Texas DWI probation – $60 per month for two years
- Up to six months in jail
- Increased car insurance rates
- A suspended driver’s license – Up to one year
- Driver’s license reinstatement fees – $125
- Driver’s license surcharge — $1,000 per year for three years; $2,000 per year if your breath test result is higher than .15
The driver’s license surcharge is the biggest piece of the pie when considering DWI costs. Most Texans are not even aware of the DWI driver’s license surcharge law. Repeat DWI offenders could face much higher fines, longer jail sentences and felony charges.
Then, if children under fourteen years of age are in the car at the time of the DWI arrest, a felony charge may be enforced. In Texas, DWI offenders guilty of more than one felony level charge could face from 25 to 99 years in prison.
While the financial costs are very important to consider, also keep in mind how important it is to keep your criminal record clear. A DWI conviction could remain on your criminal record indefinitely. This means it is attainable by future employers, the Texas DMV and other significant organizations.
Get a Lewisville DWI lawyer on your side to who will fight your case all the way to trial, if necessary. As a cheaper alternative, hiring an attorney for a DWI arrest also gives you a strong chance of achieving a positive result.
What Should I Do If I Was Charged with a DWI in Texas?
Reach out to the Lewisville DWI attorneys of Julian, Crowder & Shuster if you face DWI charges in Texas. Our Lewisville criminal lawyers are aggressive lawyers who understand what is at stake. They can then help protect you from the damaging effects of a DWI conviction. We can also help prevent a license suspension or apply for a Texas Occupational Driver’s License. Schedule a free case evaluation at our Lewisville, Denton County, law office today.
Call (972) 315-6222 or use the online case review form. Our Lewisville criminal attorneys charge reasonable rates and have significant successes fighting DWI arrests. Compare our legal fees to the total costs of a DWI conviction, and see which expense is truly less.