Getting your first DWI in TX can result in both immediate and ongoing consequences, including jail time, fines, community service and probation. These consequences are meant to deter people from driving under the influence of any mind-altering substance. After one DWI is on your record, if there is another, the penalties increase drastically.
First Time Offender Penalties
- Jail time. In Texas, even if this is your first offense, you should be prepared to spend time in jail. Usually anywhere from three to 180 days in jail. This can increase to a minimum of 180 days up to 2 years of jail time if, for example, there was a minor present.
- In most cases there will be a fine up to $2,000. But, like before, if there is a minor present, this could increase to up to $10,000. These fines do not include the surcharges you will be required to pay to the state of Texas.
- For a first offense, you will be responsible for paying $1,000 a year, for three years. If your BAC was greater than .15, that amount will increase to $2,000 a year for three years.
- License suspension. Your license will also be suspended for 90 days following your arrest and could stay suspended for up to 180 days.
As with everything, these penalties are not set in stone. Having an experienced attorney can help lessen your punishment. If you or a loved one has recently been charged with a DWI, contact an attorney at Julian, Crowder & Shuster. Call (972)315-6222 to schedule a free initial consultation.